Training deepen the knowledge of WCCC staff on Sexual Abuse

05/09/2013 11:57

The Australian Federal Police conducted a one week workshop from the 22nd - 26th of April at the Longolongo Police Station.

A representative from the WCCC was invited to attend due to the close linkage to the services that they offer.

A presentation was done by the CET, Lesila To’ia on the works that the Centre does especially when it comes to sexual crimes.

“I am very happy that I learnt a lot from this workshop especially on how we should treat survivors of sexual abuse. It widened and deepened my knowledge and understanding, whereas it is a sensitive topic to discuss and talk about. I was also impressed with the discussion of police officers during my presentation. Police practices and the Centre’s roles were clearly defined, as to avoid confusions and pointing fingers”, said To’ia.