“He tried to drown me and told me we will have sex and then kill me”

06/08/2013 16:29

I have four children with my husband, two girls and two boys. We have our own house and a fishing boat which help us with our financial matters.  Ever since we’ve been married, I’ve always a faithful wife to my husband and I love him so much never thinking of leaving him or there’s any other man is better than him, but only him.

It comes to a time he starts to play with my love and our marriage start to mess up. He beats me, avoiding me from going to any gathering occasion and I just do what he tells me to do, just because I love him as my husband and I can’t take him to court because I think to myself that will also hurt my children, then we always try to solves our problems between us even though he’s the one causing it.

It comes to a situation I fed up with him so I decided to leave him but still, no police involved.  We went to a lawyer and we decide we will half our children, he will take two to take care of them and I will take two and they will stay at our home and I will rent a place for myself and our other two kids, but at the same time I will provide everything for them, like food etc…

We agree all with that and live separately but he still owns me.  He drinks most nights and still come to where I was staying and harass me.

One night I visit with one of the girls who work for me to check on our fishing boat.  When we got there, the two boys who suppose to look after the boat were gone, so the girl got down to check a freezer in the boat, suddenly my husband showed up on the window from outside walking towards me. I was asking where he had been and I wasn’t finish with my sentence, I blacked out.

He bunches me right on my left eye, pulls me down and kicks me, and then threw me into the sea. He came down after me and tries to drown me.  The girl was with me run and call for help. 

The police and the soldiers arrived but he already took off my pants and his pants and told me we will have sex first and then he’ll kill me. When the soldiers were jumping into the water and swam towards us, he let go of me and swam away.

I went to the Women & Children Crisis Centre two weeks before this happen, they suggest the Safe House but I didn’t want to go there because of my business, thinking that I can’t do my business from there.  The very next Friday, he got drunk and came to my apartment and force himself into the house, I call the police, I stayed at the police station till daylight, the very next day I went to the centre again and they took me to the Safe House. 

I now already filed for my divorce, restraining order to safe guard me from him and also fight for the things that I have rights to at home. I encourage you women, with my experience, once the perpetrator is abusive they will never stop, actually situation will get worse so seek help as soon as you can while situation is still small and your life still much safer.